top of page

NEWSLETTER



INTERVIEW WITH MR.NAPOLEON (ANTONI WODZICKI)

Hi, this is Antoni Wodzicki and today we are going to be interviewing the leader of the popular “Animal Farm” - Napoleon.


So, first question. Why did you decide that you should be the leader of “Animal Farm”?


As I was growing up, I saw that the pigs are getting more attention and that we are the most intelligent species on the farm, so I was “born into” the race. After hearing that Snowball wanted to run for leadership in our community, I knew I had to win because I am superior. So, I banished him from the farm and won the popular vote. I always get what I want, and that is a quality of a good leader, a good leader gets what he wants when he wants it.


When banishing Snowball, did you intend to kill him or rather just chase him off?


I intended to kill him. Leaving your enemies alive is a weak trait for a leader, showing that you didn’t get rid of the problem. Because of that I may now be a target for Snowball.

Do you think Squealer would be a good leader?


No. I keep him by my side out of pity and because he does what I want him to. He is my messenger. He tells the animals what I want, and he is a pig himself. I must keep him close because all pigs are superior.


Do you think you are a good leader?


Of course! I am the best leader to have ever ruled the farm and I think that no one would do it better than me! I keep everyone busy; the farm is running so we make a profit out of it. I make everyone work the same and I make their laws, so they live happily. I distribute the food and resources. Of course, my work is very tiring, so I rest often, and that is why I need so many animals to do my work for me. Everything is in order and everyone is disciplined thanks to me, and I manage the wealth excellently. Imagine all the money I save on food and work that we can spend on important things like parties.



COMMUNISM BY ORWELL (ELWIRA KAWECKTHE CATS RIBBON COLLECTION


COMMUNISM BY ORWELL (ELWIRA KAWECKA)

“Animal Farm” is an allegorical novella by George Orwell. The book was first published on 17 August 1945. Chapter one of the novella is just the beginning of the book but it already gives us an insight into the situation and presents the main characters. The action takes place on a farm ruled by the lazy and sloppy Mr. Jones. He drinks a lot and doesn’t really care about the animals on the farm. One day, Old Major, a pig that lives on the farm, organizes a meeting for the animals. He gives a motivational speech and suggests an uprising. All animals agree and they sing a song “Beasts of England” written by Old Major. Mr. Jones awakens and fires his gun. The animals frightened from hearing the shot, disperse and go to sleep.

The main character that we meet in this fragment is Old Major. He is based on Karl Marx and Vladimir Lenin who were communists. Karl Marx formed the basis of communism and Lenin was a Russian revolutionary who established a form of Marxism in Russia. Mr. Jones represents a bad leader who doesn't care about his people and is shown as an enemy in the story. As we can see “Animal Farm”

has a lot of hidden messages and shows us, in a simple way, what communism was about.


THE BATTLE OF THE COWSHED (MICHALINA ŚLIWIŃSKA)

We’ve just been informed that a deadly battle took place on Animal Farm. As our sources say, the owners of neighbouring farms were terrified of their animals wanting to start a rebellion. One of the farmers stated - “Honesty, I think the situation is getting out of hand, I still need to feed my family and earn money. If my animals take the side of those form the Old Manor Farm me and the others will have huge problem”.

The Battle of Cowshed was a big breakthrough for the leaders of Animal Farm - especially Snowball who showed his amazing organizational and warrior-like skills. When our journalist came to the place of the battle, he was informed that one of the sheep died during the fierce fight between humans and animals. Like some of the animals stated - “She did this to help us win, a true sacrifice for the animals’ and our farm’s wellbeing”. We were also informed that the sheep was honoured with a second-class award, while horse Boxer and leader Snowball with the first-class awards. It is because Boxer knocked out one of the humans, which later on contributed to the winning of the battle. Snowball on the other hand got the reward for the planning and fierce fight against enemies. ”The battle will be long remembered" - say the animals, it is their pride and joy and they will be celebrating its anniversary by firing the gun humans left behind.

bottom of page